Crypto in South Africa

17 exchanges we have verified serve residents of South Africa, and 119 of the 150 assets we track are available on at least two of them. We have not recorded a jurisdiction-wide restriction on buying cryptocurrency in South Africa. Last verified September 2, 2026.

Verified How we verify

Legal Status and Regulation

Buying cryptocurrency is legal in South Africa, and since October 2022 the businesses that sell it to you have been regulated as financial services providers. In General Notice 1350 of 2022, published in Government Gazette 47334 on 19 October 2022, the Financial Sector Conduct Authority declared crypto assets a financial product under the Financial Advisory and Intermediary Services Act 2002, which means a crypto asset service provider needs a Category I licence, or a Category II licence where it manages assets on a discretionary basis. Applications ran from 1 June to 30 November 2023. Crypto asset service providers were separately added to the Financial Intelligence Centre Act as accountable institutions with effect from 19 December 2022, and the centre's Directive 9 of 2024 brought in the travel rule from 30 April 2025, requiring originator and beneficiary details to travel with transfers. As of September 2026 the South African Reserve Bank is consulting on bringing cross-border crypto transfers under exchange control.

Buying Crypto in South Africa

How buying works here

Buying crypto in South Africa means using a business that holds a financial services provider licence, because crypto assets are a regulated financial product here. In General Notice 1350 of 2022, published in Government Gazette 47334 on 19 October 2022, the Financial Sector Conduct Authority declared crypto assets a financial product under the Financial Advisory and Intermediary Services Act 2002 (source: Financial Sector Conduct Authority). A crypto asset service provider needs a Category I licence, or Category II where it manages assets on a discretionary basis.

That declaration changed the nature of the relationship. A licensed provider is subject to conduct standards, disclosure obligations and complaints processes designed for financial products, not to a bespoke crypto rulebook. The licensing window ran from 1 June to 30 November 2023, so the current licensed population dates from that round and its aftermath.

A second layer is anti-money-laundering. Crypto asset service providers were added to the Financial Intelligence Centre Act as accountable institutions with effect from 19 December 2022, and the centre's Directive 9 of 2024 brought in the travel rule from 30 April 2025, requiring originator and beneficiary details to travel with transfers (source: Financial Intelligence Centre, Directive 9 of 2024). In practice that means a licensed platform will ask who a withdrawal is going to, not just who you are.

Payment rails and banks

Rand funding at a platform serving South Africa runs through local currency deposit and bank withdrawal.

The rand funding routes a platform serving South Africa documents.
RailTypical useFee/time as statedSource
Local currency deposit, on LunoRand in from your bankFee and settlement time not statedLuno help centre, which countries can I use my Luno account in
Bank withdrawal, on LunoRand back to your bankFee and settlement time not statedLuno help centre, which countries can I use my Luno account in

The live development is on the cross-border side. As of September 2026 the South African Reserve Bank is consulting on bringing cross-border crypto transfers under exchange control (source: South African Reserve Bank). South Africa already applies exchange control to money leaving the country, and extending it to crypto transfers would change the mechanics of moving assets to an offshore platform or wallet. Nothing is in force yet, but if you routinely move crypto out of the country, this is the consultation to watch.

We could not retrieve current documentation from a South African platform or from BankservAfrica during this review, so we are not stating which specific transfer networks, settlement times, limits or fees apply to rand deposits today. That verification is in the queue. Rand-denominated stablecoin arrangements are not something we could confirm from a primary source, so we make no claim about them.

Exchanges people use

Two platforms in our set have confirmed South African availability, and one is closed to the country.

What each platform says about serving South African residents.
ExchangeStatus as statedSource
LunoSouth Africa is a supported country, with rand deposit and bank withdrawalLuno help centre
GeminiLists South Africa as a supported countryGemini areas of availability
BitvavoSupports only Single Euro Payments Area residents, so a South African account cannot be createdBitvavo account eligibility terms

South Africa has other licensed crypto asset service providers, and the Financial Sector Conduct Authority's register of licensed providers is the authoritative record of which firms may lawfully serve you. We have not yet verified those entries individually, so we are not naming further platforms until each one is sourced. Our current list is at Exchanges available in South Africa, and a first-purchase walkthrough is at Buy Bitcoin in South Africa.

Taxes in practice

The South African Revenue Service applies ordinary tax law and asks first whether your gain is capital or revenue in nature, a question it says is tested under existing case law rather than under a crypto-specific rule (source: South African Revenue Service, crypto assets and tax, updated 20 March 2026).

Where a disposal is capital, capital gains tax applies at a maximum effective rate of 18 percent for individuals, after an annual exclusion of 50,000 rand for the 2027 tax year (source: South African Revenue Service, annual exclusion). Where the activity is revenue in nature, typically frequent trading, the full profit is included in gross income and taxed at your marginal income tax rate.

The capital-versus-revenue question therefore matters more than the rate does, and it turns on intention and conduct rather than on holding period alone. Two people with identical trades can land on different sides of it. Keep records that show what you were doing and why, alongside the rand cost basis and disposal proceeds for each transaction, because those are the facts the test is applied to.

18%

Maximum effective capital gains rate

individuals, South African Revenue Service

50,000 rand

Annual exclusion

2027 tax year

Marginal income tax rate

Revenue in nature

full profit included in gross income

Common problems

The capital-versus-revenue line is the most common source of trouble.

The travel rule is the most common day-to-day friction. Since 30 April 2025, originator and beneficiary details must accompany transfers, so withdrawals to a self-custodied wallet or to another platform will trigger questions that did not exist before. Have the destination details and, where asked, evidence of ownership ready.

The exchange control consultation is the change to plan around. If cross-border crypto transfers are brought under exchange control, moving assets offshore becomes a process with approvals rather than a transaction. It is a consultation as of September 2026, not a rule.

We have not confirmed any pattern of South African banks blocking transfers to licensed crypto platforms from a primary source, so we make no claim about it here.

Exchanges Available in South Africa

ExchangeTypeTypical fee on $500KYCAction
Bitstamp by Robinhoodcentralized exchange$11.00RequiredVisit Bitstamp by Robinhood
VALRcentralized exchange$9.75Visit VALR
Krakencentralized exchangeRequiredVisit Kraken
Crypto.com Exchangecentralized exchangeRequiredVisit Crypto.com Exchange
UpholdbrokerRequiredVisit Uphold
NexobrokerRequiredVisit Nexo
eTorobrokerRequiredVisit eToro
Geminicentralized exchangeRequiredVisit Gemini
KuCoincentralized exchangeRequiredVisit KuCoin
MEXCcentralized exchangeRequiredVisit MEXC

Fees are estimated from each exchange’s published schedule for a $500 market buy. Rankings follow our methodology and are not influenced by affiliate relationships.

All exchanges available in South Africa

Popular Assets in South Africa

Buyability in South Africa

The 10 coins we have verified an exchange for in South Africa, graded on how many verified exchanges sell them here and what the cheapest $500 purchase costs. Price never moves a grade.

Buyability grades for South Africa, newest verification September 3, 2026.
CoinTickerGradeVerified exchangesCheapest on $500Where to buy
BitcoinBTCA17$0.50Bitcoin here
SolanaSOLA16$0.55Solana here
StellarXLMA16$0.78Stellar here
LitecoinLTCA16$0.70Litecoin here
UniswapUNIA16$2.14Uniswap here
EthereumETHA15$0.50Ethereum here
XRPXRPA15$0.54XRP here
ChainlinkLINKA15$0.54Chainlink here
Bitcoin CashBCHA15$0.70Bitcoin Cash here
AvalancheAVAXA15$2.12Avalanche here

Every tracked coin, graded

Staking in South Africa

1 exchange we track publishes staking rules specific to South Africa, covering 1 asset. Every other exchange follows its global offer. Rates are as published on the date shown and are not a promise of return.

ExchangeAssetStatusPublished rateLock-upVerified
LunoUSDCAvailable3.5%None

Tax Overview

The South African Revenue Service applies ordinary tax law and asks first whether your gain is capital or revenue in nature, a question it says is tested under existing case law rather than a crypto-specific rule. Where a disposal is capital, capital gains tax applies at a maximum effective rate of 18 percent for individuals, after an annual exclusion of 50,000 rand for the 2027 tax year. Where the activity is revenue in nature, typically frequent trading, the full profit is included in gross income and taxed at your marginal income tax rate (source: South African Revenue Service, crypto assets and tax, updated 20 March 2026).

Tax holding clock

Bought on September 5, 2026 in South Africa: holding time does not change the treatment, and the gain is taxed as a capital gain.

BoughtSeptember 5, 2026TodaySeptember 5, 2026Capital gainsNext tax year beginsMarch 1, 2027
Regime
Capital gains
Holding period
No threshold
Annual allowance
None published
Verified
September 2, 2026

This is an explanation of how the rules work, not tax advice, and your own position depends on facts this page cannot see.

Run the clock on your own purchase date

Guides

  • Crypto Estate Planning: Making Sure Your Coins Aren't Lost With You

    Passing on cryptocurrency requires two things that an ordinary will does not provide on its own, a record of what exists and where, and a route by which the person inheriting it can reach the keys, because no court order can recover a seed phrase nobody wrote down.

  • Self-Custody vs Exchange Custody: How to Decide

    Deciding between self-custody and exchange custody means choosing which failure you would rather be exposed to, a company that loses or freezes your assets or a mistake of your own that nobody can undo, and most people resolve it by splitting holdings rather than picking one for everything.

  • Spot Bitcoin ETFs vs Buying Bitcoin Directly

    A spot bitcoin ETF is a share in a fund that holds bitcoin, bought in a brokerage account and settled like any other listed security, while buying bitcoin directly gives you the asset itself on an exchange and the option to move it into a wallet you control, and the difference is custody rather than exposure.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is cryptocurrency legal in South Africa?
17 exchanges we have verified serve residents of South Africa. We have not recorded a jurisdiction-wide restriction on buying cryptocurrency in South Africa. See the regulation section for detail.
Which exchanges work in South Africa?
Bitstamp by Robinhood, VALR, and Kraken serve residents of South Africa.
Do I pay tax on crypto in South Africa?
The South African Revenue Service applies ordinary tax law and asks first whether your gain is capital or revenue in nature, a question it says is tested under existing case law rather than a crypto-specific rule. Where a disposal is capital, capital gains tax applies at a maximum effective rate of 18 percent for individuals, after an annual exclusion of 50,000 rand for the 2027 tax year. Where the activity is revenue in nature, typically frequent trading, the full profit is included in gross income and taxed at your marginal income tax rate (source: South African Revenue Service, crypto assets and tax, updated 20 March 2026).

See also