Crypto in South Korea

16 exchanges we have verified serve residents of South Korea, and 117 of the 150 assets we track are available on at least two of them. Only virtual asset service providers reported to the Korea Financial Intelligence Unit may serve residents, and platforms based outside South Korea that market to Koreans are treated as operating illegally. Last verified September 2, 2026.

Verified How we verify

Legal Status and Regulation

Buying cryptocurrency is legal in South Korea, but only through a domestic platform that has reported to the Korea Financial Intelligence Unit under the Act on Reporting and Using Specified Financial Transaction Information. Reporting is not a light touch. A virtual asset service provider needs information security management system certification, a real-name verified bank account arrangement so that deposits and withdrawals match the account holder, and it must pass checks on its major shareholders and chief executive, which the Financial Services Commission broadened in August 2026. Roughly 28 providers are reported. The Virtual Asset User Protection Act, effective 19 July 2024, added the consumer layer: customer deposits must be held at a bank and earn interest, customer assets must be segregated, providers must carry insurance or reserves against hacking and outages, and unfair trading such as using undisclosed information or manipulating prices is prohibited. As of September 2026 a second-stage framework covering stablecoins is still before the National Assembly.

Buying Crypto in South Korea

How buying works here

Buying crypto in South Korea means using a domestic platform that has reported to the Korea Financial Intelligence Unit, and linking a real-name verified bank account so that every deposit and withdrawal matches the account holder (source: Financial Services Commission). Roughly 28 providers are reported. Platforms based outside South Korea that market to Koreans are treated as operating illegally, so the offshore route most countries have is closed here.

The real-name account requirement is the defining feature of the Korean market. You do not simply pass kyc on an exchange; you hold an account at a specific bank that the exchange has partnered with, and won moves only between that account and the exchange. If your bank is not the exchange's partner bank, you open one that is. Switching platforms is therefore a bank exercise rather than a signup exercise.

Reporting is not a light-touch registration. A virtual asset service provider needs information security management system certification, the real-name bank arrangement, and it must pass checks on its major shareholders and chief executive, which the Financial Services Commission broadened in August 2026 (source: Financial Services Commission). The Virtual Asset User Protection Act, effective 19 July 2024, added the consumer layer: customer deposits must be held at a bank and earn interest, customer assets must be segregated, providers must carry insurance or reserves against hacking and outages, and unfair trading such as using undisclosed information or manipulating prices is prohibited (source: Financial Services Commission).

Payment rails and banks

There is one rail, and it is the banking system.

Won funding on a reported platform, which offers a single route in each direction.
RailTypical useFee/time as statedSource
Won deposit by bank transferFunding from your real-name verified account at the exchange's partner bankFee and settlement time not statedFinancial Services Commission
Won withdrawal by bank transferReturns to the same real-name verified accountFee and settlement time not statedFinancial Services Commission

That design is deliberate: it makes the bank, not the exchange, the identity anchor, and it makes anonymous funding structurally impossible on a reported platform.

Under the Virtual Asset User Protection Act your won deposit at a reported provider is held at a bank rather than on the exchange's balance sheet, and it earns interest (source: Financial Services Commission). Your tokens must be segregated, and the provider must hold insurance or reserves against hacking and outages. Among the markets we cover, this is one of the stronger custodial frameworks, and it is worth understanding as a reason to stay inside the reported set rather than around it.

As of September 2026 a second-stage framework covering stablecoin issuance is still before the National Assembly (source: Financial Services Commission). Won-denominated stablecoins are the subject of that bill rather than an established part of the market, so we make no claim about which won tokens are currently issued or usable.

Exchanges people use

Upbit is the platform in our set with confirmed availability for Korean residents. Customer verification requires Korean residence documents, so accounts are for residents of Korea rather than for foreign users (source: Upbit support).

Bitvavo supports only Single Euro Payments Area residents and cannot open Korean accounts. The global exchanges we track are generally absent for the structural reason described above: without a Korea Financial Intelligence Unit report and a real-name bank arrangement, serving Korean users is not lawful, and marketing to them from offshore is treated as illegal operation.

South Korea has other reported domestic providers, and the Korea Financial Intelligence Unit's list is the authoritative source for which platforms may serve you. We have not yet verified those entries individually, so we are not naming them here. Our current list is at Exchanges available in South Korea, and a first-purchase walkthrough is at Buy Bitcoin in South Korea.

Taxes in practice

South Korea has legislated a tax on virtual asset gains and has repeatedly delayed it. As of September 2026 the National Tax Service says the tax applies to gains realised from 1 January 2027, following a two-year postponement the National Assembly passed in December 2024 (source: National Tax Service).

When it starts, gains will be treated as other income and taxed separately at 20 percent, after an annual basic deduction of 2.5 million won under article 64-3 of the Income Tax Act, with local surtax charged on top. Separate taxation matters: unlike Japan's approach, a large crypto gain would not push your salary into a higher band.

The start date remains politically contested. A further delay was proposed in August 2026 and has not been enacted (source: National Tax Service). Plan on the 2027 date while treating it as unsettled, and keep purchase records from now regardless, because the cost basis you will need in 2027 is being created by the trades you make today.

1 January 2027

Start date

gains realised from this date, National Tax Service

20%

Rate on gains

other income, taxed separately, with local surtax on top

2.5 million won

Annual basic deduction

article 64-3 of the Income Tax Act

Common problems

The bank account is where most people get stuck.

The closed market is the second problem. Because offshore platforms marketing to Koreans are treated as operating illegally, tokens listed only on global exchanges are hard to reach lawfully, and workarounds put you outside the deposit protection, segregation and insurance requirements that make the domestic regime worth using.

Shareholder and executive vetting was broadened in August 2026, so expect further consolidation among reported providers. Before committing to a platform, check that it is still on the Korea Financial Intelligence Unit's list.

Exchanges Available in South Korea

ExchangeTypeTypical fee on $500KYCAction
VALRcentralized exchange$9.75Visit VALR
Krakencentralized exchangeRequiredVisit Kraken
Crypto.com Exchangecentralized exchangeRequiredVisit Crypto.com Exchange
Bitstamp by Robinhoodcentralized exchange$11.00RequiredVisit Bitstamp by Robinhood
NexobrokerRequiredVisit Nexo
eTorobrokerRequiredVisit eToro
KuCoincentralized exchangeRequiredVisit KuCoin
MEXCcentralized exchangeRequiredVisit MEXC
Bybitcentralized exchangeRequiredVisit Bybit
Bitgetcentralized exchangeRequiredVisit Bitget

Fees are estimated from each exchange’s published schedule for a $500 market buy. Rankings follow our methodology and are not influenced by affiliate relationships.

All exchanges available in South Korea

Popular Assets in South Korea

Buyability in South Korea

The 10 coins we have verified an exchange for in South Korea, graded on how many verified exchanges sell them here and what the cheapest $500 purchase costs. Price never moves a grade.

Buyability grades for South Korea, newest verification September 3, 2026.
CoinTickerGradeVerified exchangesCheapest on $500Where to buy
BitcoinBTCA15$0.50Bitcoin here
XRPXRPA15$0.54XRP here
USDCUSDCA15$0.55USDC here
SolanaSOLA14$0.55Solana here
ChainlinkLINKA14$0.54Chainlink here
StellarXLMA14$0.78Stellar here
EthereumETHA13$0.50Ethereum here
TetherUSDTA13$0.60Tether here
Bitcoin CashBCHA13$0.70Bitcoin Cash here
LitecoinLTCA13$0.70Litecoin here

Every tracked coin, graded

Tax Overview

South Korea has legislated a tax on virtual asset gains but has repeatedly delayed it. As of September 2026, the National Tax Service says the tax applies to gains realised from 1 January 2027, following a two year postponement the National Assembly passed in December 2024. When it starts, gains will be treated as other income and taxed separately at 20 percent, after an annual basic deduction of 2.5 million won under article 64-3 of the Income Tax Act. Local surtax is charged on top. The start date remains politically contested, with a further delay proposed in August 2026 and not enacted.

Tax holding clock

Bought on September 5, 2026 in South Korea: holding time does not change the treatment, and the gain is taxed at a flat rate.

BoughtSeptember 5, 2026TodaySeptember 5, 2026Flat rate on the gainNext tax year beginsJanuary 1, 2027Calendar tax year
Regime
Flat rate
Holding period
No threshold
Annual allowance
₩2,500,000
Verified
September 2, 2026

This is an explanation of how the rules work, not tax advice, and your own position depends on facts this page cannot see.

Run the clock on your own purchase date

Guides

  • Crypto Estate Planning: Making Sure Your Coins Aren't Lost With You

    Passing on cryptocurrency requires two things that an ordinary will does not provide on its own, a record of what exists and where, and a route by which the person inheriting it can reach the keys, because no court order can recover a seed phrase nobody wrote down.

  • Self-Custody vs Exchange Custody: How to Decide

    Deciding between self-custody and exchange custody means choosing which failure you would rather be exposed to, a company that loses or freezes your assets or a mistake of your own that nobody can undo, and most people resolve it by splitting holdings rather than picking one for everything.

  • Spot Bitcoin ETFs vs Buying Bitcoin Directly

    A spot bitcoin ETF is a share in a fund that holds bitcoin, bought in a brokerage account and settled like any other listed security, while buying bitcoin directly gives you the asset itself on an exchange and the option to move it into a wallet you control, and the difference is custody rather than exposure.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is cryptocurrency legal in South Korea?
16 exchanges we have verified serve residents of South Korea. Only virtual asset service providers reported to the Korea Financial Intelligence Unit may serve residents, and platforms based outside South Korea that market to Koreans are treated as operating illegally. See the regulation section for detail.
Which exchanges work in South Korea?
VALR, Kraken, and Crypto.com Exchange serve residents of South Korea.
Do I pay tax on crypto in South Korea?
South Korea has legislated a tax on virtual asset gains but has repeatedly delayed it. As of September 2026, the National Tax Service says the tax applies to gains realised from 1 January 2027, following a two year postponement the National Assembly passed in December 2024. When it starts, gains will be treated as other income and taxed separately at 20 percent, after an annual basic deduction of 2.5 million won under article 64-3 of the Income Tax Act. Local surtax is charged on top. The start date remains politically contested, with a further delay proposed in August 2026 and not enacted.

See also